AnaEE Finland Partners

Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke) 

The Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke) is a research organisation operating under the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry of Finland. Luke’s task is to promote competitive business based on the sustainable use of renewable natural resources, as well as wellbeing and the vitality of the countryside.

Luke resolves challenges in the sustainable and profitable use of renewable natural resources in four phenomenon-based research programmes. Every year, Luke has more than 700 research projects in progress, roughly 100 of which are EU projects. In 2021, Luke’s researchers published more than 700 peer-reviewed scientific publications. Research accounts for approximately 70 percent of Luke’s activities.

In addition to research activities, Luke has statutory duties, and it compiles Finland’s official food and natural resources statistics.

Luke employs some 1,300 people. Luke operates in 24 locations in Finland and the headquarter is in Helsinki. 

More info: Presentation of Luke | Natural Resources Institute Finland 

University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki (UH) is the oldest and largest institution of academic education in Finland, an international scientific community of 40,000 students and researchers. In international university rankings, the University of Helsinki typically ranks among the top 100. The University of Helsinki seeks solutions for global challenges and creates new ways of thinking for the best of humanity. Through the power of science, the University has contributed to society, education and welfare since 1640.

It operates on four campuses in Helsinki and in 9 other localities in Finland. The University’s 11 faculties are home to many departments. Furthermore, the University accommodates several independent research-oriented institutes, multidisciplinary research networks and campus units, as well as units attending to duties of a national authority. The University of Helsinki enjoys great visibility and influence all around Helsinki and in the rest of Finland.

The University of Helsinki carries out research of an internationally high standard. Research funding, honours and prizes awarded to our researchers are an indication of the wide-spread esteem among the global scientific community. The University of Helsinki has regularly been ranked among Europe’s 10 to 15 best universities on worldwide ranking lists of research universities. Some 470 doctorates are completed annually and 11,000 articles or monographs are published yearly by the university’s researchers.

More info: University of Helsinki 

University of Oulu

The University of Oulu (UO) is an international science university that creates new knowledge, well-being and innovations for the future through research and education. The University of Oulu, founded in 1958, is one of the largest and most multidisciplinary universities in Finland. 

Close cooperation with research institutes, companies, and the public sector has created an internationally significant research and innovation hub that has changed the world. Every day 2.6 billion people use technology developed in Oulu. In addition, the university’s location close to the Arctic offers unique conditions for a wide variety of research.

The combination of a science and technology university provides an excellent basis for influential research. The eight faculties and the research units in the University of Oulu form a strong science community, which makes it possible to do groundbreaking, multidisciplinary research.

The University of Oulu is committed in its values to act responsibly towards the society and the environment, to seek solutions for the sustainable use of resources of the planet, and to make ecologically responsible choices in its own actions. We promote sustainable development through education, research, societal interaction and campus development.

More info: University of Oulu 

University of Turku

The University of Turku (UTU) is an international research university and an active academic community of 25,000 students and staff members from over 100 different countries. It was founded as the firstFinnish-language university in the country in 1920. The University’s main campus is located in the historical city centre of Turku – close to the unique nature and archipelago of Southwest Finland. As one of the leading universities in Finland, the University of Turku offers study and research opportunities in seven faculties and seven special units.

Research at the University of Turku  is diverse and international, promoting free, effective and open science and aiming towards new interdisciplinary initiatives. Research at the University is profiled through the following six thematic collaborations: biofutures; digital futures; cultural memory and social change; children, young people and learning; drug development and diagnostics; sea and maritime studies. A strong focus is placed on making research careers attractive and predictable. The University of Turku Graduate School coordinates PhD training and 16 Doctoral Programmes, and the University Hosts two Research Collegia which offer post-doctoral career opportunities. 

Each year, over a hundred different innovations and dozens of invention disclosures originate from the research conducted at theUniversity of Turku. The University offers a growth platform for startups and spin offs stemming from top research and aims to develop entrepreneurial attitude and activities in the entire University. The University collaborates closely with the Finnish society and participates actively in the development of its region.One of the main strategic goals is also to be a responsible employer by building an encouraging and interactive university, where it is a pleasure to study and work.

More info: University of Turku 

University of Eastern Finland

The University of Eastern Finland (UEF) is the most multidisciplinary university in Finland. The high standard of interdisciplinary research and education respond to global challenges and build a sustainable future. The research is ranked among the best in the world in several fields. UEF offers education in nearly 100 major subjects and trains experts for tomorrow’s changing labour market needs. 

The University of Eastern Finland was established in 2010, following a decision by the University of Joensuu (est. 1969) and the University of Kuopio (est. 1972) to join forces in a merger. The university comprises four faculties: the Philosophical Faculty, the Faculty of Science and Forestry, the Faculty of Health Sciences, and the Faculty of Social Sciences and Business Studies. 

More info: University of Eastern Finland